Another Brick in the Wall: NDSG Styleboard

Do you want to look like you’re in a Burberry advertisement? Do you want to feel like you’re in a Burberry advertisement? Well, I’ve got just the thing for you: my non-denominational school girl (NDSG) styleboard.

Today I decided to dress like a non-denominational private school student. Why “non-denominational”? Because I think it takes away from the premise of a “naughty” school girl. Because it’s a mouthful. Because I’m not British, Japanese, or naughty.

Let me professionally hem anything that’s too long for you.

Oddly enough, I went to private school, where privations abound. You would think that I would abhor any kind of revival of this in my current day to day life, as I wore a jumper for some-odd 10 years. On the contrary, I am a true WSHFYL enthusiast, and can never get enough of rigid self-control and discipline. Ergo, school-uniform throwback.

This photo was taken with my iPhone and a gracious napkin holder (who I’ll now refer to as “Checkers”), as I have no tripod or class.

Of course, like most things, my outfit is inspired by Mad Men-era jumpers, immortalized by Twiggy and the like. I know that there are plenty of episodes where there are adorable jumper-shifts, but I frankly was too lazy to go through and take screencaptures of them. You’ll most likely see mini-skirted shifts on Sally, Megan and Megan’s posh New York actress friends. They represent youth, bisexuality, and first-world problems.

The jumper I have on here was actually quite an attractive floor-length corduroy maxi-dress (underlined here for emphasis on “attractive”) that was a steal from Good Will for $5.50. As you can probably tell, I haphazardly cut the hem on this dress to create a shift, and have not bought fabric glue to make it any neater. I have wanted to wear this dress for a long time!

Red pashmina scarf from Canal Street, $5, and metal collared shirt from Conway (not sure if this exists outside of NY/NJ) for $13.

It is incredibly difficult to find jumpers of this boxy-ilk online. I searched under:

  • pinafore dress
  • jumper dress
  • shift dress

All of these keywords came back with mixed results. Of course, you can try Etsy, but that’s a size-by-size vintage basis. Lo and behold, after two hours of scouring, I was able to compile some steals that are in the styleboard below.

1. Black shift jumper with leatherette pockets.
2. Black sweater with studded collar.
3. Red plaid scarf.
4. Tan plaid jumper dress.
5. Mint collar sweater.
6. Black oxford wedges.
7. Tan corduroy skirt.
8. Tweed shift jumper dress.
9. Black chiffon studded collar blouse.

Of course, all of these options can be completed with opaque stockings of your choice (maybe even sweater stockings as it gets chillier into December).

Embrace your inner NDSG!

[the title of this post was inspired by these handsome boys]

Leave a comment